Roger Savage 


Systematic Musicology



Music criticism, aesthetics and politics, hermeneutics and critical theory.

D.Phil., University of Sussex, England; M.M., McGill University; B.M., University of Saskatchewan

Roger Savage’s interdisciplinary research focuses on the connections between hermeneutics, critical theory, music criticism, aesthetics, and politics. He is the author of Music, Time, and Its Other: Aesthetic Reflections on Finitude, Temporality, and Alterity (Routledge), Hermeneutics and Music Criticism (Routledge), and Structure and Sorcery: The Aesthetics of Post-War Serial Composition and Indeterminacy (Garland). He also edited Paul Ricoeur in the Age of Hermeneutical Reason: Poetics, Praxis, and Critique (Lexington, 2015), which brings together essays that address contemporary issues of justice, the role of imagination in political judgment, interreligious hospitality, and carnal hermeneutics. Professor Savage has published articles in Philosophy Today, Études Ricoeuriennes/Ricoeur Studies, Philosophy and Literature, the Journal of French Philosophy, Social Imaginaries, World of Music, Telos, The European Legacy, the British Journal of Aesthetics, ex tempore, Symposium, and Selected Reports in Ethnomusicology. His articles have also appeared in translation in Logoi and Archivio di Filosofia. He is a contributing author to Ricoeur across the Disciplines (Continuum) and Paul Ricoeur and the Task of Political Philosophy (Lexington Books, 2012). He co-edited Perspectives in Systematic Musicology: Selected Reports in Ethnomusicology and has presented papers at numerous national and international conferences.

Professor Savage was a 2010 Fulbright Scholar at the Centre for Irish Studies at the National University of Ireland, Galway (NUI, Galway), where he taught and conducted research on cultural politics and Irish traditional music. In 2014 he was the recipient of a Moore Institute Visiting Fellowship at NUI, Galway. He is a founding member of the Society for Ricoeur Studies, for which he is also a past President.