Loading Events
May 13 Thu
5:00pm
Free

New Music Concert Through Six ‘Mirrors’

Zoom

Concert at 5 PM PDT | 8PM EDT; Concert Program available for download here

Interactive roundtable with composers and performers to follow at 6 PM PDT | 9 PM EDT

Join us for a free virtual concert, “Mare’ot/Mirrors”, celebrating the extraordinary contemporary music composed by six women of Jewish heritage. Performed by Atlanta-based new music ensemble Bent Frequency, the concert features music by Lera AuerbachAlyssa WeinbergGabriela Lena FrankJudith ShatinNomi Epstein and Betty Olivero. It will be followed by an audience interactive roundtable with conversations surrounding their process and their art, including composers Nomi Epstein, Judith Shatin and Alyssa Weinberg and performers Stuart Gerber and Jan Berry Baker.

This program is presented by Bent Frequency, in partnership with the Lowell Milken Center for Music of American Jewish Experience, and Atlanta’s Breman Museum and Neranenah.

Bent Frequency strives to reflect the incredible spectrum of artists contributing to contemporary classical music through consciously crafting and curating its season programs. Mare’ot/ Mirrors, is the second program in its 2020-2021 SUSTAIN series.

Program:

Table Talk (2016), Alyssa Weinberg (b. 1988); Stuart Gerber and Victor Pons, percussion
Prayer (1996/2009), Lera Auerbach (b. 1973); Jan Berry Baker, alto saxophone
Violin and Piano (2004), Nomi Epstein (b. 1978); Helen Kim, violin, Erika Tazawa, piano
Grito del Corazón (2001), Judith Shatin (b. 1949); Jan Berry Baker, alto saxophone, Stuart Gerber, percussion, Kathy Aoki, video artist
Mare’ot (1994), Betty Olivero (b. 1954); Sarah Ambrose, flute, Helen Kim, violin
Sonata Serrana No. 1 (2012), Gabriela Lena Frank (b. 1972); Eric Jenkins and Erika Tazawa, piano

This event is made possible by the Lowell Milken Center for Music of American Jewish Experience at The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music with additional support from the Dean's Opportunity Fund.

Register in advance for this event. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the event.

Nov 21 Mon
8:00pm
Free
classical
Inaugural Judith L. Smith Voice Recital Featuring UCLA Alumna Soprano Angel Blue (M.M. '08)
Soprano Angel Joy Blue, M.M. '08, is the featured artist of the inaugural Judith L. Smith Voice Recital Series, celebrating talented vocalists and the distinguished tenure of UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music, Founding Dean Judith Smith. Angel Blue made her debut at the Metropolitan Opera House in 2017 and returns to her alma mater for this special performance. Pianist Brain Zeger will accompany Angel. Angel and Brian will join us the following day as each will hold masterclasses for students of the Department of Music.
Schoenberg Hall