Loading Events
Jun 3 Thu

Pianists in Isolation: The Benno Rubinyi Piano Students Award and Marathon


The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music proudly presents the Benno Rubinyi Piano Students Award in honor and memory of Benno Rubinyi’s musicianship and through the generosity of the late Jeannette Rubinyi and the Rubinyi family.

Each year, the piano department presents its students in a themed piano marathon. This year, the theme is "pianists in isolation", and all the piano students will present jointly prerecorded and live performances that emotionally respond to their time in quarantine.

In lieu of a traditional piano competition, this year the Rubinyi family will present awards to all the undergraduate students, marking an unprecedented year. Next year, the competition will return in its standard format.

Our program is as follows:

Michelle Chen
Alexander Scriabin-- Sonata No. 4 in f-sharp minor, Andante

Amanda Reyes
Claude Debussy— Prelude No.6 Des pas sur la neige and Children’s Corner, "The Snow is Dancing"

Austin Ho
Franz Schubert-- Impromptu in G flat major Opus 90 No. 3

Ashley Chen
György Ligeti-- Musica Ricercata No. 2

Harry Li
Nikolai Medtner-- Fairy Tale Op 51 No. 2

Lily Moon
Autumn Leaves

Valerie Chang
Maurice Ravel— Sonatine, Animé

Fiona Mai
Amy Beach Barcarolle op. 28 no. 1

Veola Sun
Franz Liszt-- Annees de Pelerinage, Book 1, No. 9 (Les Cloches)

Maggie Pan
Clara Schumann Nocturne Op6 No2

Kelsey Ma
Robert Schumann Kinderszenen, Träumerei

Joyce Lin
R. Schumann Kinderszenen, Hasche-Mann

Lukasz Yoder
Frederic Chopin -- Mazurka Op. 17 No. 2 in e minor

Sophia Su
Original work, 2021

Brandon Zhou
Zhou - Two Preludes and Fugues, II. (E Major)

Sean Tang-Wang
Zhou - Two Preludes and Fugues, I. (D Major)

Bo Feng
Schubert/Liszt - Erlkönig

Elaine Lin
John Corigliano - Fantasia on an Ostinato

Valerie Stern
Sergei Rachmaninoff - Barcarolle Op. 11 No. 1 (four hands)

We welcome your contribution to the Benno Rubinyi Fund In Piano Performance to support talented piano students. Give here today! 

Register in advance for this event. After registering, you will receive a confirmation email containing information about joining the event.

Attending this Program?


This event is FREE! Let us know you’ll be coming by RSVP.


The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music is eager to provide a variety of accommodations and services for access and communications. If you would like to request accommodations, please do so 10 days in advance of the event by emailing ADA@schoolofmusic.ucla.edu or calling (310) 825-0174.


The UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music acknowledges the Gabrielino/Tongva peoples as the traditional land caretakers of Tovaangar (the Los Angeles basin and So. Channel Islands). As a land grant institution, we pay our respects to the Honuukvetam (Ancestors), ‘Ahiihirom (Elders) and ‘Eyoohiinkem (our relatives/relations) past, present and emerging.

Sep 30 Thu
Pop Up Lab: Sound Artist and Composer Alba Triana
Join the UCLA PEER Lab for the first installment in the Pop Up Lab series, hosted by sound artist and composer Alba Triana as she invites us into her workspace and shares her creative process.
Oct 10 Sun
Kol Nidre: Audio-Visual Dramaturgies - Part 2
Part 2 of this 4-part online conference, is called "The Moment and Momentum of Kol Nidre: A Multi-Layered Analysis of Yom Kippur's Grand Overture." What makes the moment of Kol Nidre so unique? In our joint presentation, we will probe the grand overture of the Day of Atonement, liturgically, musically and as a performative event.
Oct 17 Sun
Women's Voices, Women's Souls
Co-presented by TIOH Arts & Culture, Los Angeles Jewish Symphony, Dr. Noreen Green, Artistic Director, and the Lowell Milken Center for Music of American Jewish Experience at the UCLA Herb Alpert School of Music A celebration of Jewish women’s voices, the centerpiece of this concert are excerpts from Women of Valor, an award-winning cantata by composer Andrea Clearfield, performed by members of the Los Angeles Jewish Symphony under the direction of Dr. Noreen Green and featuring Grammy award-winning soprano Hila Plitmann and mezzo-soprano Iris…